RIDOT has established policies for addressing claims to damage to vehicles and property on and along State roadways. Please scroll down to the information that applies to your situation.
Yes. There are a series of steps you need to follow, which are detailed below. You can also obtain directions by calling (401) 734-4817.
RIDOT has established a policy for pothole claims in keeping with section 24-8-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws. Timeliness is important. Claims have to be made within seven days of striking the pothole and payment is made no later than 45 days after the claim is approved. The total turnaround time for a pothole claim generally is about 60 days from the initial filing of the claim.
There are no guarantees with any claim made to RIDOT, and the pothole claim law only applies to cars registered in Rhode Island. The pothole law is only effective for non-residents if their vehicle is registered in a state that has a reciprocal pothole law – meaning that such a state would afford similar protections to Rhode Island-registered vehicles in its state.
The registered vehicle owner must submit a letter stating the exact time, date, and exact location of the incident and it must be post marked or received within seven (7) calendar days of the incident. Please remember to include your daytime telephone number and current mailing address. You may also include your email address. Then, you have 60 calendar days from the date of the incident to provide the following information:
Please note that your claim will not be processed until all information requested is received. If the information is not received within the time specified, then your claim will automatically be denied. Depreciation on tires and rims will be formulated into the costs.
Maximum reimbursement amount per the Rhode Island Pothole Statute is $300.
I damaged by car while driving through a construction work zone, can I file a claim for this as well?
Yes. The process is similar to the pothole claim procedure. RIDOT urges motorists who believe their vehicles were damaged in a work zone to contact the Work Claims Coordinator at (401) 222-2468 Ext. 4290. RIDOT submits such claims to the responsible contractor for processing.
These claims should include:
Yes. You must submit a letter describing exactly what happened including the exact date, time, and location of the incident. Also include your daytime telephone number and your current mailing address. You must submit a copy of the paid receipt for the repair of the damage. You must show the proof of payment whether you paid by cash, credit card or check. If you have a police report you may submit the report as well but it is not required.
Please note that RIDOT does not handle property damage claims in excess of $5,000 or incidents involving personal injuries. The R.I. Office of Attorney General is the designated attorney for service in an action against the State of Rhode Island pursant to section 9-31-7 of of the Rhode Island General Laws.
If you do not provide all of the necessary information your claim will be returned to you.
Yes. If you live on a State road and your mailbox was damaged by snow removal operations, please contact RIDOT's Claims Coordinator Arlene Nelson at 401-734-4842. Reimbursement will vary (maximum of $50) depending on the amount of damage caused, and may include the issuance of a replacement box or reimbursement for work to repair or replace the box and/or its post.
If you live on a city or town-owned road and your mailbox was damaged, contact your local city or town hall.
At this time, RIDOT does not have the ability to accept claims information or supporting documentation electronically.