Who Will Operate the Toll Gantries?
RIDOT selected Kapsch TrafficCom, to design, build, operate and maintain the system for 10 years. RIDOT will set the toll rates in accordance with the mandates of the legislation.
How do I calculate my toll?
The toll rates are posted on this page under "Tolling Program Documents" and on the interactive map. Click on a tolling location to see the toll rate:
Toll Gantry Locations
What is the cost of each toll?
The toll rates vary from location to location, from $2.25 to $9.50. The average toll rate for a location is $5.42. For RFID (i.e. E-ZPass) equipped tractor trailers, tolls are limited to once per day, per direction and there is a cap of $20 for a through-trip on I-95 as well as a daily cap of $40 per day no matter how many tolls a tractor trailer goes through.
Will tolls be capped?
Tolls will be limited to once per toll facility, per day in each direction. Toll rates will be limited along the I-95 corridor at $20 for a border-to-border trip from Connecticut to Massachusetts. There also is a daily maximum toll of $40 per tractor trailer regardless of the number of toll gantries passed. All caps require the use of a radio identification transponder (such as E-ZPass).
How did the state determine the toll rates?
We determined the toll rates based on the needs of repairing Rhode Island's bridges.
What are the ways to pay my toll?
Tractor Trailers with E-ZPass will be billed through E-ZPass. Those without a valid E-ZPass will receive a bill that can be paid by check or credit card.
Can I pay my toll with a credit card?
Will I be tolled both ways through Rhode Island?
Yes, but only once per direction per day, with a valid RFID (i.e. E-ZPass). Once a vehicle with a valid E-ZPass has reached the cap, it is no longer tolled for that day.
Can I pay one toll and then go through the state?
No, tolls are assessed on a point-by-point basis.
What constitutes a violation?
Failure to pay the toll invoice in the allotted time.
What happens if I don't have E-Z Pass, who gets the bill?
The registered owner of the tractor or truck tractors as defined in 23 C.F.R. 658.5, pulling a trailer or trailers will get the bill.
Where can I pay a penalty or fee?
They can be paid online, by mail, or at a RITBA customer service center.
Who collects them?
The Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority will collect the fees.
How long is the grace period?
Registered owners have 30 days to pay the toll at which point the toll invoice becomes a violation.
Can I appeal a violation?
Yes, by filling out a dispute form or in the state traffic tribunal.
Will any personal identifiable information be shared with state police or any other entity?
Any Data collected to implement R.I. Gen Laws Chapter 42-13.1 shall be used only for toll collection purposes and shall not otherwise be made available to law enforcement or other agencies except pursuant to a valid court order.