Filing a Damage Claim with Us

If you believe your vehicle was damaged on a state road, please reference the below for claims information. Note: If the damage occurred on a city or town road, please refer to the appropriate community for more information on its claims process. For a complete listing of state roads, visit the State Road or Local Road? section of this page.

Potholes

Rhode Island has a special law that provides reimbursement of up to $300 for hitting a pothole. Initial notification for the claim has to be made within seven calendar days of striking the pothole. Please see the links below.

Who's eligible?

Our state's pothole claim law only applies to cars registered in Rhode Island. If you don't live in Rhode Island you can only file a claim if the state your car is registered in has a reciprocal pothole law. What this means is your state would allow owners of Rhode Island-registered vehicles to file a pothole claim in that state.

How to file

The registered vehicle owner must submit a letter stating the exact time, date, and exact location of the incident. Please remember to include your daytime telephone number and current mailing address. You may also include your email address. Important: This initial notification must be done within seven calendar days of the incident. You have up to 60 calendar days from the incident to submit supporting documentation (see Documents to Submit below).

Documents to submit

You have 60 calendar days from the date of the incident to provide the following documents:

  • A copy of the valid R.I. registration for the vehicle
  • Copies of itemized, paid receipts with a proof of payment provided and the current odometer reading on the repair bill
  • One of these three documents:
    • A copy of a police report, or
    • A tow receipt, or
    • An auto club report

Note: If you need a police report, visit the city or town police department where the damage occurred. If the damage occurred on an Interstate highway, visit a R.I. State Police barracks to file a pothole incident report form.

How long does it take?

Payment is made no later than 45 days after the claim is approved. The timeframe for processing varies based on the volume of claims we receive.

Where do I mail the claim?

Rhode Island Department of Transportation
Division of Highway and Bridge Maintenance
Attn: Pothole Claims
360 Lincoln Ave.
Warwick, RI 02888

Construction Zones

If your car was damaged while driving through one of our construction zones, you may file a claim with us and we will coordinate with the responsible contractor for processing. Please see the links below.

Who's eligible?

Owners of all vehicles, either registered in Rhode Island or elsewhere, may file a claim.

How to file

Please contact our Work Zone Claims Coordinator at (401) 222-2468 Ext. 4101, who will initially document your claim and identify whether the damage you are reporting was the result of a construction operation on our roadways.

Documents to submit

Please provide the following documents:

  • A copy of a police report, a tow receipt or an auto club report
  • A copy of the valid registration for the vehicle
  • Copy of the work invoice - either paid or an estimate

Note: If the damage occurred on an Interstate highway, and you do not have a tow receipt or auto club report, you can contact the R.I. State Police to report the incident.

How long does it take?

There is no set timeframe, however we strive to expedite all claims and provide a response as quickly as possible.

Where do I mail the claim?

Rhode Island Department of Transportation
Construction Management Division
Attn: Work Zone Claims Coordinator
Two Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02903

Damaged Mailboxes

If you live on a state road and your mailbox was damaged by a state plow, you may be eligible for a replacement box or reimbursement up to $50 to repair a broken box or post. Please see the links below.

Who's eligible?

All property owners living on a state road.

How to file

Please contact our Claims Coordinator at (401) 734-4842. If you receive a recorded message, please describe the damage, and indicate the date and time it occurred. Please also leave your name, address, daytime phone number and email address.

If you are just seeking a replacement mailbox, please use our mailbox replacement request form.

Documents to submit

Provide the following documents:

  • A letter with your name, address, date of incident, and what happened to your mailbox
  • A copy of an itemized paid receipt of what you purchased to replace or repair your mailbox

How long does it take?

There is no set timeframe, however we strive to expedite all claims and provide a response as quickly as possible.

Where do I mail the claim?

Rhode Island Department of Transportation
Division of Highway and Bridge Maintenance
Attn: Mailbox Claims
360 Lincoln Ave.
Warwick, RI 02888

Other Damage

You may submit a general claim for damage to vehicles or property. Please see the links below.

Who's eligible?

All vehicle or property owners may file a claim, regardless of residency. Please note that RIDOT does not handle property damage claims in excess of $5,000 or incidents involving personal injuries. The R.I. Office of Attorney General is the designated attorney for service in an action against the State of Rhode Island.

How to file

Please submit a letter describing what happened, including the exact date, time, and location of the incident. Also include your daytime telephone number and your current mailing address. You may also include your email address.

Documents to submit

Please provide the following documents:

  • A copy of the paid receipt for the repair of the damage
  • Proof of payment whether you paid by cash, credit card or check.
  • Photos of the damage, if available
  • Optional: A copy of a police report, tow receipt or an auto club report

Note: If the damage occurred on an Interstate highway, and you do not have a tow receipt or auto club report, you can contact the R.I. State Police to report the incident.

How long does it take?

There is no set timeframe, however we strive to expedite all claims and provide a response as quickly as possible.

Where do I mail the claim?

Rhode Island Department of Transportation
Division of Highway and Bridge Maintenance
Attn: Legal Claims
360 Lincoln Ave.
Warwick, RI 02888

At this time, RIDOT does not accept claims information or supporting documentation electronically.

Claims Hotline:
(401) 734-4817

Read R.I.'s
Pothole Law

State Road or Local Road?

If you spot a roadway hazard but aren't sure who to contact, visit our State-maintained roads web page to find out.

Learn More »

City & Town Websites